January 7th, 2008 at 10:08 am (Fast Food)
I already waxed enthusiastic about the eggs at Dunkin’ Donuts, but one of my readers asked about eating vegan there, so I did some research. They have a nice site with detailed nutrition and ingredient information, and it turns out that there are lots of vegan options there, including some you might not expect.
If you’re a vegan, go for a bagel (but not a multigrain or blueberry) without cream cheese, or maybe an english muffin. Add a hash brown on the side, and drink a flavored coffee (but not pumpkin or vanilla). For lunch, get a fruit coolatta and the oriental salad. But vegans have to skip all of the eponymous donuts and munchkins, as well as all coffee coolattas.
Read on for the details…
The Multigrain and Blueberry bagels have honey in them, so they aren’t vegan, and the obviously-named Reduced Carb Bagel with Cheese has (no surprise) cheese. The English Muffin is also vegan, but all other baked goods (including biscuits, croissants, and muffins) contain milk or eggs.
The coffee Coolattas are vegetarian, but you have to opt for the orange, lemonade, or strawberry to get a vegan one. None of these contain honey, either, though there is some fabulous propylene glycol (aka antifreeze)!
Pumpkin and vanilla coffees are not vegan, but all other flavored coffees are, including the chocolate flavor-shot kind.
Most hot foods are not vegan, but the new (weird, spicy) hash browns are.
The “Donuts” all contain milk and eggs.
If your Dunkies serves the Deli menu, there is a nice Vegetarian Sandwich. But watch out, vegans, because the dressing includes egg yolk! The Oriental Salad is vegan, but contains tree nuts if you have an allergy. The Caesar Salad does contain anchovies, so it’s not vegetarian, but the Garden and Mediterranean salads are ok for vegetarians but not vegans. Stay away from the soups – even the Broccoli Cheese is made from chicken stock (as are most, including Panera’s).Overheard:bagel, doughnuts, Dunkin' Donuts, muffins, salads, soup, vegan